How Much Does a Business License Cost in Florida?

The Sunshine State is a great place to start a business because it doesn’t charge individuals or separate entities (like LLCs or sole proprietorships) income tax, corporation tax is only 5.5%, and sales tax is a reasonable 6.6%.

But before you start a business in Florida, you must know what business licenses you need and their costs.

So, how much does a business license cost in Florida?

Let’s find out. 

What is a business license?

A business license is a general term for any licenses, permits, or certifications your state, county, or city requires before you can sell goods or provide services.

The business licenses you’ll need, and their costs depend on your Florida location and the services or products you’ll provide. 

Let’s look at which business licenses you might need and their costs next:

What is the cost of a business license in Florida?

The business license cost in Florida varies by location, business nature, and size, and some counties/cities require annual renewal. 

Here are some business license examples to give you an idea of what you might need to start your business in Florida:

What are some unique elements of Florida when it comes to business licenses

Florida has 67 counties, each with unique elements and requirements for applying for a business license

However, one consistency is every Sunshine State business needs a Florida Business Tax Form to pay its taxes. As proof of payment, once received, you must display it in your place of business as it’s subject to inspection by a municipal or county official. 

Operating an unlicensed Florida business is a misdemeanor offense with a fine of up to $1000 and one year jail time. 

Besides a Florida State Business Tax Form, you might also need a specific city or county BTR, as some cities (like Miami) require both. 

Top tip:

You can find the relevant resources and requirements for your business and locality on the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation website. And links to each Florida county website on Open My Florida Business

The types of businesses that require a license in Florida

Your license requirements depend on your business type and where you’ll operate. Although Florida doesn’t require a state business license, certain professions must apply for one. All businesses must apply for a license at local and county levels

Occupations needing a business license include those requiring extensive training, selling certain products (like firearms or agricultural materials), working in the food industry, or exposing customers to potential hazards. 

Some occupations that need a business license include: 


Any business with employees, corporations, partnerships, nonprofit organizations, and LLCs must have a federal employer identification number (FEIN) from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).

Top tip:

Use the Sunbiz website for more information about your business’s license requirements.

Florida Business License FAQs

How do I get a business license in Florida?

All Florida counties and cities have various requirements for getting a business license (business tax receipt), but most ask for the following information: 

How long does a business license take to get in Florida?

You’ll usually receive your business license within 2 to 3 weeks after your application date.

Do you need a license to start a business at home in Florida?

Yes, you need a business license and specific permits to run a Florida home-based business in most counties; some also require an additional city-specific tax receipt. 

What do you need to start a business in Florida?

Some steps you’ll need to take to start your Florida business are:

Top tip:

To find everything you need to start a business in the Sunshine State, check out my other article, “Ultimate guide for starting a business in Florida in 11 easy steps.”

And the Open My Florida Business website has links to all Florida county government web pages, enabling you to find the regulations for your business licensing requirements. 


So, we now know the answer to our question, “How much does a business license cost in Florida?” Is…

It depends on the type of business you’re starting and where you’ll operate because Florida doesn’t require a state business license, and each county and city has its specific requirements.

Fortunately, you can find each county’s licensing department on the Florida Department of State website.

Happy hunting.

This portion of our website is for informational purposes only. Tailor Brands is not a law firm, and none of the information on this website constitutes or is intended to convey legal advice. All statements, opinions, recommendations, and conclusions are solely the expression of the author and provided on an as-is basis. Accordingly, Tailor Brands is not responsible for the information and/or its accuracy or completeness.

Terry is a serial entrepreneur with over 25 years of experience building businesses across multiple industries – construction, real estate, e-commerce, hotelier, and now digital media. When not working, Terry likes to kick back and relax with family, explore Taoism’s mysteries, or savor the taste of fine Italian red wine.